EDU 6120 “Search for meaning”

“Search for meaning”

For this week’s response to EDU 6120, the writing prompt is “search for meaning”.  There were numerous parts of the lectures and the readings that created meaningful reactions for me.  I enjoyed the portion of the lecture that made a distinction between persuasive and coercive power that a teacher has at their disposal.  Persuasive power is more challenging to implement but will be much more beneficial to the development of our students own self identities.  There is also this line from the second podcast “Compelling curriculum is the most compelling classroom management plan” (podcast 2).  As a teacher, I will strive to create learning experiences around the curriculum that are meaningful for my students.  If there is no meaning and participation for the students, the instruction will function, or be conducive to enabling a coercive power environment.

From the “The Ethical Basis and Aim of Instruction” by Johann F. Herbart, I really enjoyed this part,“18. The constant presence of the idea of perfection easily introduces a false feature into moral education in the strict sense. The pupil may get an erroneous impression as to the relative importance of the lessons, practice, and performance demanded, and so be betrayed into the belief of being essentially perfect when these demands are satisfied” (Herbart).  Throughout my internship, I have found students desire to be right a disappointment.  This seemed to be a main driving force behind their participation in class.  I tried to openly discuss the importance of being wrong and how we don’t know everything, that’s why we are here.  I also tried to maximize the amount of open ended question’s and activities in class.  In the search for meaning with my students, I hope to continue to develop a meaning in the classroom that will be a safe place for all students to be involved in the learning activities and a desire to discover new things.

From the Arthur Ellis reading Educational Challenges, I would like to discuss the following, “The one inescapable fact that the teacher must face is that he or she will teach values. Whether this is done formally in the sense of offering actual instruction in values, or whether students merely “catch” values through observation of the teacher’s day-to-day behavior, the teacher will teach values.”  There are numerous values that I would like to appropriately model for my students, calm, perseverance, compassion, to name a few.  In order to best model this behavior, I will need to prepare for the days instruction so I can be calm and responsive to my students needs with a meaningful disposition.

 

Readings for the week

Emile, or a Treatise on Education (1773, sel.) by Jean Jacques Rosseau

“The Ethical Basis and Aim of Instruction” by Johann F. Herbart

Educational Challenges by Arthur Ellis

 

Leave a Reply

